Sweet Home Chicago
News and Updates
Online Store
Links of Interest
Contact Us
Privacy Policy
Online Store

Chicago Blues Masters Volume 2 - Jimmy Rogers

Chicago Blues Masters Volume 2 - Jimmy Rogers

As an integral part of the original Muddy Waters' combo, Jimmy Rogers was instrumental in defining the Chicago Blues Sound. Yet, in spite of his own solo success with Chess in the 1950's (during which time he recorded such classics as "That's All Right," "The Last Time," "Sloppy Drunk," "Chicago Bound," and "Walking By Myself"), Rogers was rarely heard from throughout the 1960's.

After his decade long hiatus, Rogers returned to the studio with renewed energy in 1972, backed by members of the Bob Riedy Blues band. Over three sessions, Rogers laid down versions of his Chess classics and new material including "Act Like You Love Me," "Broken Hearted Blues," and "Gold Tailed Bird," his modern Chicago Blues classic. Containing 18 tracks in all, Chicago Blues Masters Volume 2: Jimmy Rogers provides the listener with a thorough examination of the music of Rogers' career-from Walters' session man to provocative solo performer.

Track listings:

1) Act Like You Love Me

2) Broken Hearted Blues

3) Information Please

4) Bad Luck Blues

5) Gold-Tailed Bird

6) Lonesome Blues

7) Brown-Skinned Woman

8) That's All Right

9) You're Sweet

10) Sloppy Drunk

11) Live At Ma Bee's

12) House Rocker

13) Pretty Baby

14) You're The One

15) Blues (Follow Me All Day Long)

16) Slick Chick

17) I Lost A Good Woman

18) Dorcie Belle